PBL in Action

Well, clearly it’s been a long time between drinks, so to speak.  There has been an amazing amount of change in the last few months, so I’ll give you the highlights:

  • I took on my first permanent full-time teaching position at a wonderful new school;
  • I moved with my wife and almost 2 year old daughter to a new town six hours away from friends and family;
  • I am now going to be a father of two in May!

I’m six weeks into the new school year, finding my way around a new town and still getting settled into life as a full time teacher.  My classes have been a wonderful mix and I’m enjoying getting to know each and every one of my students. I can already see some great possibilities for the year ahead.

I’m also enjoying shaking things up a little bit. After having some (not all that exciting) time with worksheets and copying notes off the board, I’ve thrown my Year 9 students a wonderful challenge – come up with a 60 Minutes-style news segment all about the 2011 Christchurch earthquake.  No prescription of content (beyond a few basic guidelines), only suggestions and resources for inspiration. So far we’re two lessons in and they’re taking to it like a duck to water!  I’m definitely still working out how PBL works best in the classroom, so I’d really appreciate any feedback or suggestions. But so far I’m wondering why I didn’t start it earlier!

Leave a Reply

